Overtime!: The 2007 HHOF inductees.
League of Legends Guide

Thursday, June 28, 2007

The 2007 HHOF inductees.

The NHL announced today the identity of the four players that will be inducted into the Hockey Hall Of Fame a bit later on this summer.

Mark Messier, won the Stanley cup five times with the Edmonton Oilers and once with the New-York Rangers during his illustrious career. His nomination was obvious. Messier retired on Sept, 12, 2005, as the NHL's second-leading scorer behind Wayne Gretzky. In 1,756 regular-season games, Messier had 694 goals and 1,193 assists for 1,887 points. He ranks seventh in goals and third in assists. Messier was the second-greatest scorer in Stanley Cup history, behind only, of course, Wayne Gretzky. Messier totals 109 goals and 186 assists for 295 points in 236 Stanley Cup Playoff games.

Scott Stevens, the star defensemen of the New-Jersey Devils. He has won the Stanley cup three times. During his brillant career he totalized 196 goals and 712 assists for 908 points in 1,635 regular-season games. Stevens added 26 goals and 92 assists for 118 points in 233 Stanley Cup Playoff games. Stevens was runner-up to Raymond Bourque in voting for both the 1988 and 1994 Norris trophy.

Al MacInnis, a legendary defensemen who was known and feared for his very heavy slapshot. MacInnis won the Stanley cup once with the Calgary Flames in 1989. MacInnis totals 340 goals and 934 assists for 1,274 points in 1,416 regular-season games. Among NHL defensemen, only Bourque and Paul Coffey scored more goals. MacInnis had 39 goals and 121 assists for 160 points in 177 Stanley Cup games.

Ron Francis, three-time Lady Byng Trophy winner. He retired as the fourth-leading scorer with 1,798 points. Francis was second only to Gretzky with 1,249 assists and third with 1,731 regular-season games played. His 549 goals ranks him fifth. He had 46 goals and 97 assists for 143 points in 171 Stanley Cup Playoff games.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Powered by FeedBurner

Free Website Counter
Shop NBC Coupon