Overtime!: German Grand Prix: Imperial Hamilton.
League of Legends Guide

Sunday, July 20, 2008

German Grand Prix: Imperial Hamilton.

The German Grand Prix final results can be reduced to a single event that shaped the finishing order of the race.

Timo Glock's suspension failure in the last corner of the circuit produced a big crash and brought the safety car on the track while grouping the cars together. Only a handful of cars did not went to the pits while the safety car was on the track. Among them, race leader Lewis Hamilton and Nelson Piquet Jr who went to the pits only a single lap before the incident.

At the restart, only a few of us were aware that Piquet was on a single stop strategy. The strategy worked like a charm for the rookie driver who led the race with only a few laps to go. But Hamilton's car was too good for the competition. The British driver took back the lead by overtaking Piquet Jr rather easily. Piquet Jr finished in second place and offered Renault their first podium finish of the season. The combination of a great strategy and a bit of luck helped the young Brazilian driver.

For Ferrari, it is a race to forget. Felipe Massa did okay all day long and brought in some valuable points with a third place. For Kimi Raikkonen, it was a different story. The defending champion struggled all weekend long and finished in sixth position.

German Grand prix top ten finish:

Winner: Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)
2-Nelson Piquet Jr (Renault) +5.5 seconds
3-Felipe Massa (Ferrari) +9.3 seconds
4-Nick Heidfeld (BMW-Sauber) +9.8 seconds
5-Heikki Kovalainen (McLaren) +12.4 seconds
6-Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) +14.4 seconds
7-Robert Kubica (BMW-Sauber) +22.6 seconds
8-Sebastian Vettel (Toro Rosso) +33.2 seconds
9-Jarno Trulli (Toyota) +37.1 seconds
10-Nico Rosberg (Williams) +37.6 seconds

Drivers championship after 10/18 races:

1-Lewis Hamilton 58 points
2-Felipe Massa 54 points
3-Kimi Raikkonen 51 points
4-Robert Kubica 48 points
5-Nick Heidfeld 41 points
6-Heikki Kovalainen 28 points
7-Jarno Trulli 20 points
8-Mark Webber 18 points
9-Fernando Alonso 13 points
10-Rubens Barrichello 11 points
11-Nelson Piquet Jr 10 points
12-Nico Rosberg 8 points
13-Kazuki Nakajima 8 points
14-David Coulthard 6 points
15-Sebastian Vettel 6 points
16-Timo Glock 5 points
17-Jenson Button 3 points
18-Sebastien Bourdais 2 points

Constructors championship:

1-Ferrari 105 points
2-BMW-Sauber 89 points
3-McLaren 86 points
4-Toyota 25 points
5-Red Bull 24 points
6-Renault 23 points
7-Williams 16 points
8-Honda 14 points
9-Toro Rosso 8 points

(Picture: Lewis Hamilton, McLaren.)



Post a Comment

<< Home

Powered by FeedBurner

Free Website Counter
Shop NBC Coupon