Overtime!: Japan Grand Prix: Alonso wins a second race in a row.
League of Legends Guide

Sunday, October 12, 2008

Japan Grand Prix: Alonso wins a second race in a row.

After winning his first race of the season in Singapore, Fernando Alonso repeated and finished in first place of the Japan Grand Prix.

Besides the fact that Renault has shown that they are back to the front of the pack after a difficult start of season, all eyes were on the battle for the drivers championship between Lewis Hamilton and Felipe Massa.

Hamilton sabotaged his race at the very first corner. Once the red lights extinguished, the McLaren driver pointed the nose of his car inside of the Ferrari driven by Kimi Raikkonen and locked his wheels, forcing Raikkonen to roll outside of the track.

This loss of control from Hamilton forced the race officials to penalize him sending Hamilton way back. The British driver will finish the race out of the points in 12th place. As for Felipe Massa, he collided with Lewis Hamilton a few corners after the start and was also forced to the back of the pack. Massa will end up in 8th place and will only gather a single point.

The race for the drivers championship is still undecided. Hamilton's lead over Felipe Massa has been reduced to five points while Robert Kubica of BMW-Sauber is still mathematically in the hunt.

Japan Grand Prix top ten finish:

Winner: Fernando Alonso (Renault)
2-Robert Kubica (BMW-Sauber) +5.2 seconds
3-Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) +6.4 seconds
4-Nelson Piquet Jr (Renault) +20.5 seconds
5-Jarno Trulli (Toyota) +23.7 seconds
6-Sebastien Bourdais (Toro Rosso) +34.0 seconds
7-Sebastian Vettel (Toro Rosso) +39.2 seconds
8-Felipe Massa (Ferrari) +46.1 seconds
9-Mark Webber (Red Bull) +50.8 seconds
10-Nick Heidfeld (BMW-Sauber) +54.1 seconds

Drivers championship after 16/18 races:

1-Lewis Hamilton 84 points
2-Felipe Massa 79 points
3-Robert Kubica 72 points
4-Kimi Raikkonen 63 points
5-Nick Heidfeld 56 points
6-Heikki Kovalainen 51 points
7-Fernando Alonso 48 points
8-Jarno Trulli 30 points
9-Sebastian Vettel 29 points
10-Mark webber 21 points
11-Timo Glock 20 points
12-Nelson Piquet Jr 18 points
13-Nico Rosberg 17 points
14-Rubens Barrichello 11 points
15-Kazuki Nakajima 9 points
16-David Coulthard 8 points
17-Sebastien Bourdais 7 points
18-Jenson Button 3 points

Constructors championship:

6Toro Rosso36
7Red Bull

(Picture: Fernando Alonso, Canadian Press.)



Post a Comment

<< Home

Powered by FeedBurner

Free Website Counter
Shop NBC Coupon