Overtime!: Montreal Grand Prix: A race full of surprises.
League of Legends Guide

Sunday, June 08, 2008

Montreal Grand Prix: A race full of surprises.

Historically, the Canadian Grand Prix is the theatre of exceptional performances and has a lot of surprises in store. Today's edition was no different.

The 30th Canadian Grand Prix was the occasion for the BMW-Sauber to shine. Not only Robert Kubica finished in first place for the first time in his career but Nick Heidfeld who was starting from the eight spot finished in second place. A pleasant and unexpected one-two finish for the team who finishes in first place for a first time also.

The main incident of the race came at the 19th lap when the Force India of Adrian Sutil stalled and was forced to retire. The safety car was sent out on the track and the leaders decided to pit in. Lewis Hamilton who was starting from the pole position came out of the pits after his service behind Robert Kubica and Kimi Raikkonen. Hamilton committed a fatal mistake when he came out of the pitlane. He did not see the red light and the stalled Ferrari of Kimi Raikkonen and rammed him. Both drivers had to retire because of the incident.

The incident coupled with the victory propells Robert Kubica in front of the drivers championship.

Here is the top ten finish of the Canadian Grand Prix:

Winner: Robert Kubica (BMW-Sauber)
2-Nick Heidfeld (BMW-Sauber)
3-David Coulthard (Red Bull)
4-Timo Glock (Toyota)
5-Felipe Massa (Ferrari)
6-Jarno Trulli (Toyota)
7-Rubens Barrichello (Honda)
8-Sebastian Vettel (Toro Rosso)
9-Heikki Kovalainen (McLaren)
10-Nico Rosberg (Williams)

Drivers championship after 7/18 races:

1-Robert Kubica 42 points
2-Lewis Hamilton 38 points
3-Felipe Massa 38 points
4-Kimi Raikkonen 35 points
5-Nick Heidfeld 28 points
6-Heikki Kovalainen 15 points
7-Mark Webber 15 points
8-Jarno Trulli 12 points
9-Fernando Alonso 9 points
10-Nico Rosberg 8 points
11-Kazuki Nakajima 7 points
12-David Coulthard 6 points
13-Timo Glock 5 points
14-Sebastian Vettel 5 points
15-Rubens Barrichello 5 points
16-Jenson Button 3 points
17-Sebastien Bourdais 2 points

Constructors championship:

1-Ferrari 73 points
2-BMW-Sauber 70 points
3-McLaren 53 points
4-Red Bull 21 points
5-Toyota 17 points
6-Williams 15 points
7-Renault 9 points
8-Honda 8 points
9-Toro Rosso 7 points

(Picture: Robert Kubica, Getty Images.)



Post a Comment

<< Home

Powered by FeedBurner

Free Website Counter
Shop NBC Coupon